Stapleford student writes Jane Austen book


A 21-YEAR-old Notts Jane Austen enthusiast’s book about the author is being published in the UK and abroad. writes this is Nottingham.

Student Lauren Nixon, of Stapleford, has written Jane Austen: A Celebration Of Her Life And Work, which provides a “guide to everything you would want to know about the author”, Miss Nixon said.

She added: “Most books tend to focus on just one aspect, like her family, her life, or her novels.

“But my book brings everything together.

“It’s factual and informative but not heavily academic.

“The idea is that everyone with some interest in Austen can read this book and enjoy it, as well as take away some new knowledge.”

The book will be published by Worth Press Limited, who plan to print 7,000 copies initially, some of which have been sold to North America, Australia and New Zealand.

The company also hopes to be work with publishers in France, Germany and Japan.

Miss Nixon is in her final year of a degree in English Literature at Bath Spa University.

She has worked as a guide at the Jane Austen Centre in Bath since her first year at university.

“I’ve always had a passion for Jane Austen,” Miss Nixon said.

“She’s been one of my favourite writers since I was 12.

“So, when I came to university I decided I wanted to work at the centre and luckily they had an opening.”

She said she started working on the book in September and finished it in January.

She said: “It was a lot of responsibility.

“It’s definitely not been easy, but it was really enjoyable.

“I’ve always thought writing was something I would do much later in life, so I’m really overwhelmed to be given the chance so early on.

“I’m really proud, especially because I’ve managed to juggle writing, my job and my degree and somehow not become a social recluse.”

After finishing her degree, Miss Nixon wants to move back to Nottingham, earn some money and use a year to work on her PhD proposal.

“I’d like to start my PhD in 2012-13 in the Female Gothic. It’s something I became interested in because of Jane Austen.”

When Miss Nixon started her degree she didn’t know what she wanted to do with her life.

But she is certain now that she wants to become a lecturer or professor.

“I’d like to be able to talk to people and get them interested in what I love.”

Ken Webb, of Worth Press Limited, said the book was a celebration of the 200th anniversary of Jane Austen’s first novel – Sense & Sensibility.

He said: “I immediately recognised Miss Nixon’s knowledge and her enthusiasm and it therefore did not take me very long to commission her to be the author of this book.

“The demand for information about Jane Austen is very much worldwide.”

He said the book would be published at the end of August and will cost £25.

He said it would be promoted and made available to all retail bookshops, select gift shops, various Austen centres around the country as well as internet sales platforms.

For more information about these or any other programmes, please contact us to discuss your potential
educatours@a8workandstudy.co.uk
UK Head OfficeTel: +44 (0)844 5555 480

About studentabroadmagazine

The place to share and discover study abroad in the top 8 study regions of the World; United Kingdom and Europe, Australia, New Zealand, Canada, USA, South America , South Africa and Asia educatours@as8workandstudy.co.uk
This entry was posted in UK Student News and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Stapleford student writes Jane Austen book

  1. Pingback: Latest Book Club Titles « Brew City Book Lovers

Leave a Reply

